YOU CAN DRIVE BUT YOU CANNOT HIDE

YOU CAN DRIVE BUT YOU CANNOT HIDE


Driving in Oklahoma increases your insurance risk.  The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety estimates that approximately 600,000 Oklahoma drivers do not have automobile insurance.  While car insurance is required by law, about 1 in 4 drivers choose not to purchase it.  These statistics put Oklahoma near the top of the list for uninsured drivers in the United States.  Due to the increased risk, insurance premiums increase as well.  Not only does it cost you in case of an accident, but also, in your regular insurance premium.

ROADBLOCK

In November 2017, Oklahoma introduced the Oklahoma Compulsory Insurance Verification System.  This system allows law enforcement to utilize an electronic system to verify insurance status when doing a traffic stop.  Officers can tell in real-time with current information within the last 24 hours if drivers have insurance.  The idea behind the system is that once drivers know that this information can be confirmed, they will be more likely to make sure their insurance is current.

SPIES

In an effort to improve the crack down on uninsured motorist, Oklahoma is now working with cameras to identify vehicles on the road without insurance.  These cameras scan license plates and compare them to the insurance database.  Those who are in violation of the mandatory insurance laws are sent a letter along with a $174 fee requesting the driver to prove they have proper auto insurance and keep it for 6-9 months.  This allows the state to process these cases without going through the court system.

JUST DO RIGHT

Rather than be upset at the fact that you are being watched and checked as a driver, just make sure you are doing the right thing.  The right thing is to make sure you are within the law and secure the required amount of car insurance in the state of Oklahoma.  By law, Oklahoma drivers should have:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle
  • $50,000 for total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle, and
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.

This coverage will pay for bills and costs of other drivers, passengers, or pedestrians who incur injury due to an accident you cause.  It provides coverage for you or anyone else you give permission to drive your car.

GO ABOVE AND BEYOND

Liability Insurance does not cover your injuries or the damage you may incur on your vehicle.  In order to be protected, you should purchase Comprehensive and Collision insurance.  These coverages protect you in the event of an accident.  Your injuries and damage done to your car will be included with this coverage.  Also, Uninsured Motorist coverage protects you if you and passengers are injured by a driver with no insurance.  It does not, however, cover damage to your car.

Contact your DAEMI AGENT to stay in compliance to the law and reduce premiums!

Comments are closed.

YouTube Icon
Translate »